The Kindness of Strangers

So after handing Alejandro back around 11.30 (later than I wanted) I set off from Geldrop! Just as I did it started to rain…then didn’t stop the whole day. I was given directions by the guys at the Camper Van place, as I didn’t trust the map/directions I’d printed off. Turns out I was right to, as I’m useless at following maps. Luckily I had my sister’s Sat Nav as back up.

Made it into Belgium

Made it into Belgium

 

After passing the Dutch/Belgian border, about 2.5 hours in, I stopped at a little cafe.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A tad wet!

A tad wet!

The looks I got from the elderly locals playing bridge, or whatever it was they were playing, were curious to say the least! Not surprised really, I looked like a drowned rat.

Luckily the word coffee is pretty international…in Europe anyway, so I sat there being stared at whilst I sipped the coffee and tried to warm up.

After sending a few messages to say I was still alive I went on my way.

Around 5 pm I thought I should start looking for somewhere to stay for the night. There weren’t many hotels/ guest houses around at all, so I was happy to see a sign half an hour later. What I wasn’t happy about was the price of the hotel- a little above budget to say the least.

The lady at the desk, a lovely Russian woman, sympathised and helped look for somewhere cheaper. The next place was 20 miles away. “No chance”, I thought! Just as I was about to give in and just pay for the room she said she’d call her friend. Strange I thought…

10 minutes later, her friend’s husband (Leo) arrived to take me to their home so I could stay for the night. How lovely that these complete strangers wanted to help me so much.

Not only did they welcome me into their home and provide a warm comfy bed, but they made me dinner, which was delicious, and then breakfast in the morning. Leo wouldn’t even let me wash the dishes!

Tania came home later on (Leo’s wife) and surprised me even further by offering me a dressing gown, slippers and then ensured I had food to take with me the next day.

The kindness was overwhelming. It’s so nice to witness true good natured generosity from total strangers.

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “The Kindness of Strangers

  1. I am still amazed by the hospitality of others, especially those who have nothing! Its little things like that my friend that make cycle touring all the more fun and interesting! There will be plenty more where that came from I am sure. xx

  2. Fleur Durrant

    Very cool story, they sound amazing! 🙂

  3. gina

    still good people out there xxx

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

