The Crew World

Antibes is in between Cannes and Nice. It’s one of the most popular places for those looking for yachting work in Europe.  Over the years word has got out about how well paid the industry is (normally you can save enough for a deposit on a house, in the North of England anyway, after one year) and has meant competition for jobs has increased. I stayed at a crew house, which is basically a hostel for those looking for work on super yachts. Some people have been there for 2 or 3 months looking for work, just picking up day work here and there. It made me nervous that I’d made a mistake coming out here, naively thinking I’d find a job quickly. I signed up to various job agencies and went walking along the docks asking boats if they had any crew jobs going. This quickly became boring, so I decided to give myself a break and go out.

The next morning I was a tad hung over, still in my PJs and trying to wake up! The owner of the crew house, Martin (real Yorkshire man), ushered me over to tell me a captain was in reception, had seen my CV and wanted to interview me there and then! I obviously wanted to quickly change into something smart, but he wouldn’t let me, just dragged me over to the Captain (in my Pjamas)! After going over my hospitality experience he invited me along for a trial day the next day in Ville France. Yipeeee.

So the next day I hopped on a train, 40 minutes away, to Ville France- which is just past Nice. The port is absolutely beautiful and apparently part of a James Bond movie was filmed here.

The boat, Sprezzatura, is owned by a couple in their 60s from Australia & USA. They spend a lot of time on board, but also charter the boat out too. This is where the tips are i hear!

The crew consists of a French Captain, English Deckhand, Italian Head Stewardess and a German engineer. They all seem really nice and welcoming.

I’d say half of the 8 hour trial was spent in the toilet vomiting from sea sickness. There was no way I thought I’d get the job…but they offered it to me on the day. I think I must have been a cat in my previous life as I always seem to land on my feet 😉

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “The Crew World

  1. Fleur Durrant

    Well done Shell, great news!!!!! x

  2. Lauren Rose

    You are an international legend, ill see you in Vietnam then meet you in New Zealand….double skydive!!!xx

  3. Thanks guys. Will be putting the route together very soon, so watch this space 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

