Boat Life

Mine and Manuela's Cabin

Mine and Manuela’s Cabin

So almost 2 weeks on board and I can safely say I’ve never worked so many hours in my life. My role of stewardess has consisted of 8am-11pm days (with no day off) cleaning, washing, ironing, serving food and drinks, making beds and helping out with the anchor and things at times.

Sprezzatura

Sprezzatura

It’s a pretty old boat and we’ve had a few hiccups already. The ice maker set on fire on my third day. Unfortunately I didn’t have chance to practice my fire fighting skills, as someone beat me to it. The engine exploded too. Luckily we’ve got another 2, so not such a big deal! Oh and the other day in St Tropez the wind was so bad it caused our tender boat to cut clean from its rope and ended up on the rocks- 20 grands worth of a boat, gone in seconds!

OK, so wipe everything out of your mind when you imagine cleaning & housekeeping, because on boats it’s on another level! We’re talking toothpicks along the wood paneling, tissues presented to look like flowers, bed sheets precisely measured and ironed, toilet paper shaped like a diamond and generally extremely anal cleaning. In the outside world you wouldn’t normally hoover if it wasn’t needed. Here it’s necessary to hoover despite it actually needing to be done. Oh and don’t get me started on the folding of the socks. I didn’t realise there was a right way to fold socks, and every other item of clothing for that matter. Jesus! Now for anyone that knows me, attention to detail is not one of my strong points. I’m more of a ‘there’s more to life than spending 20 minutes making a bed’ kind of person. So you can imagine that this kind of stuff drives me insane! I’ll fold the dressing gowns on the bed, ready for when the guests arrive and this, as the chief stewardess tells me, is not good enough. So I do it again…and again…and again. Did I mention patience is also not one of my strengths??? Music mostly gets me through, and swearing- in thought only. I made the bed the wrong way the other day. This got described as a “very bad situation” by the chief stewardess. I’d describe world hunger, aids, or even war in this way- NOT a badly made bed!! Oh, did I mention it’s a dry boat too, so I’ve not had a drink for 2 weeks!

The main Saloon

The main Saloon

Right, I’ve had my rant so now I’ll describe the good parts. The owners are nice, not too demanding at all, the money is good, so is the food actually, and the views are amazing.

The owners have left now, so time for a day off!!

The Aft Deck

The Aft Deck

Categories: Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Boat Life

  1. Clare

    Awesome post!
    Don’t worry – you’ll get through it, and I know you’re not frightened of hard work.

  2. Fleur Durrant

    Ummmmm…. I lack patience as you know, I haven’t ironed a THING in YEARS, I sometimes don’t wear matching socks, and as for it being a dry boat…… Sounds like I would go mad. Totally bloody mad!!! : ) X

  3. LOL. Glad you understand the pain i’m going through! x

  4. laura mina

    Aw shell sounds all kinds of crazy…😝 Keep it real my friend its an amazing experience your training to be a good wife too…..xx

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

