Beach day

20th March- Korcula-rest day

It’s Palm Sunday today so I headed St Marks cathedral in the square to check out what was going on. They’re quite a religious bunch the Croatians, with over 80% Catholic and it seemed like half of the island were at the ceremony. In Korcula there are three Brotherhoods, one of which dates back to 1301, so there were boys and men dressed in three kinds of robes with their candles. The priest then said a few Lines, blessed some people- it was all very interesting, but I felt like an imposter being the only one without a palm leaf cross in my hand, so I left them to it.

imageimageimage

As it was a gorgeous sunny day I headed to a beach 7km away to relax and read my book. I don’t like walking much so I broke my no cycling on rest day rule and cycled there instead. It was a really nice ride, passing loads of vineyards on the way and I saw what I think was a ferret/weasel too! When I got there I was the only one on the beach…on a Sunday…I mean it wasn’t mad hot, but 17 degrees is a beach day to me. I know my friends in Australia will disagree with this!

image

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

