Fun in strasbourg

15th- 17th April- Strasbourg- rest weekend

Nik’s mum came to visit me the weekend, which was just what I needed after a tough few days on the bike- mentally not physically.

i arrived a little earlier and got to the hotel to make the most of the nice bathroom (all to myself), comfy bed, TV and a kettle to make as much tea as I wanted. It’s the little things eh?!

It was lovely to see Hils and spend some quality time together, which we haven’t really done yet. Good chance for her to check out if I’m definitely marriage material for Nik and also for me to ensure I won’t have a nightmare mother in law to deal with- luckily i think we’re both safe!

image

This woman is a real life shopping guru, she knows all the names and products (it seems) of all the shops and her ability to swoop in, pick an item up, assess its quality and durability in seconds is really quite something. I came away with a dress, cardigan, pair or trousers and a top without it realising I’d bought anything!

we didn’t just shop though, we checked out the cathedral in the main square which has this grand old clock inside with so much detailing you had to stare at it for a while to take it all in. Outside we got talking to a guy from Yorkshire and I told him what I was doing and he very kindly gave me €10 towards the fundraising.

image

We did a lot of walking, despite Strasbourg not being a huge city- we checked out the European Parliament part of the city, where we stumbled across this lovely park with an old orangerie, fountains and even a mini free zoo!

image

Afterwards we went into this lovely patisserie for fancy tea and cake- the selection of cakes made my mouth water! I really need to curb this cake addiction when I get back or I’ll be the size of a house.

We’re both fans of rose wine and I especially love my food, so as the weather wasn’t too great we spent a decent amount of time eating wonderful food and drinking nice rose- my idea of a perfect weekend.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

